Tags

, , , ,


The other day I was throwing together some bottom-of-the-fridge-pantry-and-freezer ingredients and looked over to see my 2 year old making her own soup in her “kitchen”. She was so proud of it, so I took a picture of it on the real stove next to mama’s pot.

Photo: Who's coming for dinner?

Her recipe:

  • 1 wooden pot
  • 1 wooden knife
  • 1 wooden orange
  • 2 wooden strawberries
  • 1 decorative gourd
  • Lots of love

Simmer on a fake stove until mama says it’s done!

My recipe came spur of the moment as I was trying to think of what to make for dinner. I used up the carrots and potatoes that were sitting in the bottom of my fridge and pantry. I used up the ham bone from the freezer that I couldn’t bear to throw away from thanksgiving but didn’t really know what to do with. You can make this soup your own with different spices or ingredients. Seriously. Just throw it all in the pot.

This soup came out tasting like a good baked potato with bacon on top. We all ate it; me, my husband, 2 1/2 year old, and 10 month old, and everyone had seconds :)

Ham Bone & Potato Soup

  • 1 Ham Bone
  • 3-4 cups cubed ham
  • 1 1/2 pounds baby carrots or regular carrots sliced
  • 7ish medium potatoes, chopped in 1in cubes
  • 1/2 pound white beans soaked & drained (or 1-2 cans drained)
  • 8 cups water or broth (pork, chicken, veggie all work well)
  • Salt to taste
  • Whatever else you think should be thrown in

Place bone, ham, carrots, and beans in water or broth and bring to a boil. Simmer for about 45 min or however long if you’ve forgotten about it. Add potatoes and salt and simmer for about 15 min. Scoop out about 4 cups of potato/carrot/broth mixture and blend in a blender or food processor (please be careful-it is hot and will BURN you if you fill your blender too full). Add the puree back into the soup and simmer until serving.

Enjoy! This is delicious, easy, and excellent for a cold or rainy day.  You can also just place everything in a slow cooker and simmer it forever until the beans and veggies are soft but not mushy. Yum Yum!

